Pascal’s Wager Part Uno

So there is an old argument for God called Pascal’s Wager. The argument goes like this: if I believe in God, and I am right, I lose enjoyment in this life, but I gain eternal pleasure in the next life. However, if I believe in God, and I am wrong, I only lose enjoyment in this life. But, if I don’t believe in God, and I am right, I gain enjoyment in this life. However, if I don’t believe in God, and I am wrong, I still gain enjoyment in this life but I lose out on eternal pleasure. To put it simply:

If I believe in God I lose temporary pleasure and possibly gain eternal pleasure.

If I don’t believe in God I gain temporary pleasure but possibly lose eternal pleasure.

Since one option has the possibility of eternal pleasure, and that greatly outweighs any finite gain or loss, that is the option to take.

 

Leave a Reply

